Sierra Nevada

January 15, 2005

Lee Vining Canyon (9000ft), December 21

My brother and I went ice climbing for the first time on waterfall ice. We toproped “Waterlogged” (WI3), “Colonel Clink” (WI3+), and “Conrad’s Corner” (WI4-). Topos of the climbs are available here. We did not have appropriate crampons for this type of climbing. The current ice climbing conditions in Lee Vining Canyon.

Two weeks later I went on an overnight backcountry skiing trip in Sequoia NP. The area is called the Tableland. I overpacked and had a miserable time skiing in. I built a snow shelter to sleep in, pictured below. I made the snow bricks too thick. Because of their weight it was exhausting lifting them into place. I got the idea for the trip from the book Ski and Snowboard Summits in California.

Leave a Reply

