Mt Shasta

June 15, 2005

Monday – June 13th

Left Bunny Flat (7000ft) at 1pm with my brother and Paul. Set up camp at Helen Lake (10400ft). I brought a bivy sack for shelter. Concerned that I might get cold, I built a snow shelter with a partial roof. For dinner I made stew from beef cubes, frozen vegetables, potato flakes, and a shallot. Paul treated us to a round of Bushmills whiskey.

Tuesday – June 14th

At the advice of the website, we got up at 2am and left camp at 3am. Absurd, because the climb is short and we climbed in the cold and dark unnecessarily. We passed 3 people on the way to Red Banks (12800ft), where my brother felt nauseated and stopped climbing. Paul and I tagged the summit (14162ft) at 6:30am. There were winds up to 50mph along the way, but the summit itself was calm. We got back to the car at 12:30pm.

Leave a Reply

